International Mountain Section
Society for Range Management

SRM-IMS Awards Procedure

The awards program of the International Mountain Section of the Society for Range Management is designed to publicly recognize members and others who have made outstanding contributions to the science and art of range-related resource management. The Awards Committee of the International Mountain Section will recognize and identify Montanans and Albertans who have made significant contributions to rangelands, and nominate them for an award. Past award recipients can be veiwed here.

The Awards Committee shall normally be made up of a Chair and Associate Chair for each of Montana and Alberta.  The Chair and Associate Chair will be appointed by the current IMS President.  The Awards Committee is responsible for receiving nominations; any SRM-IMS member in good standing can submit nominations, including IMS Executive and Awards Committee members.  A detailed resume of the award recipient's numerous accomplishments and contribution shall be prepared and presented by the Chairman of the Awards Committee or his/her designate at a suitable Meeting.

The Awards Committee Chair will present nominations to the President of the International Mountain Section for the annual IMS Trail Boss Award and Excellence in Rangeland Management Award(s).  The President, in consultation with the IMS Executive, will choose the awardees to be honoured in any particular year.  Award nominations can be prepared and brought forward by any member of the IMS and will normally be channelled through the IMS Awards Committee.

Everyone knows candidate(s) that are excellent nominees for the SRM-IMS Trail Boss Award, the Excellence in Rangeland Management Award, or the Alicia Hargrave Memorial Award.  Nominating a deserving individual or group for an award is a fulfilling experience in itself.  Your action is required or deserving individuals may be passed over.  Need some help? Here is a generic award letter template for you to use to begin drafting your nomination. Please submit your nominations to:

Barry Adams (Alberta)                      or                          Jon Siddoway (Montana)                                        
     403-394-5899                                                             406-868-4434